Fasting for Dracula

Musings of an older-born

image

Disclaimer: I wrote this before the recent events in Beirut and Paris. I am aware that this is insignificant in comparison.

I’m an early to bed,  early to rise person. Although these days rising usually means getting up, feeding the cat, making coffee and toast and taking them back to bed. And with sunrise at roughly 5.45 a.m. and first light some twenty minutes earlier, coffee can be any time after that. So when the doctor said it was time to do fasting blood tests my heart sank. Because I know from experience that the two hours between six and eight can seem endless when I am denied my toast and coffee. Usually when fasting blood tests are recommended, I procrastinate and procrastinate until the form is forgotten.

But a neighbour had a stroke last week, giving our close community a scare, so I have decided that it is time to…

View original post 479 more words

2 thoughts on “Fasting for Dracula

  1. Sally, I enjoyed every word of this post because it reflected my experiences with blood draws, as well, especially my irritation at not having my coffee and my reluctant enjoyment of the walk to the office. Thank you for capturing and expressing so well a bit of my life.

Leave a Reply

